google reviews

Below is a link to our Google Reviews.

Owhango Adventures
Owhango Adventures
130 Google reviews
Paul Duncan
2022-01-24
I spent time working out which canoe hire company would be the best for our trip and definitely made the right choice - Grant and his team at Owhango Adventures are the best people to book with. Not only do they provide free accommodation for the night before you go to the river (and they charge the same price for canoe hire as the competitors who don't provide any accommodation) but they run a seamless operation that gives you all the correct gear you need and transports you to the river and back. Grant even shouted us a beer at his pub at the end of the trip, legend.
Mariam A
2022-01-17
Grant was incredibly helpful, and our local guide Teriake was awesome
Lily Graydon
2022-01-14
10/10 would recommend. Grant helped us out heaps with the planning of our Whanganui River Journey in terms of campsites to stay at, what to pack, how to tie everything up in our canoe etc. Pat was waiting for us at the end of our trip to take us back and was really friendly and helpful too. We felt taken care of and looked after by the team at Owhango Adventures and really enjoyed our trip. Thanks heaps ????
Trevor Phipps
2022-01-12
Good value for money accommodation A fantastic shuttle service for the Tongariro crossing and 42 Traverse These people work very hard to do a great job for the people looking for some adventure around Owhango Would recommend them highly
Anthony Gadsbey
2022-01-09
Anthony and Isla, We completed a 3 day paddle down the Wanganui river. This was an authentic kiwi experience - physical, cultural and spiritual. 10/10 - an amazing adventure. Local guide 'Willy' is relaxed, he has plenty of stories to tell, intimately knows the river and the community, and is totally organised. The overnight stay on 'Iwi land' riverside was a magical spot with a perfect night sleep. We had a wonderful welcome at the Marae on our second afternoon. Great, friendly service - we highly recommend Owhango Adventures. Thanks so much!!
Kevin Yi
2022-01-06
Did a 3 day trip with friends canoeing down the beautiful Whanganui River. Grant and Pat were beyond helpful through every step of the process. After forgetting our gear at a previous campsite, they opened up their lodge for us to stay another night. The views and the trip were beautiful without a doubt but I will not soon forget the hospitality and kindness that they showed. A beautiful trip where we got to meet some even more beautiful people. Highly recommend, cannot wait to return 10/10
Ross Browne
2022-01-03
6 of us did a self guided 4 day river trip and had an incredible time. Grant made it stress free and very enjoyable, he was super helpful, full of useful tips and advice for along the way, couldn't have asked for better service.
Jason Harman
2022-01-01
I cannot recommend these guys enough, we had an amazing trip! The owner, Grant, is a great guy and was super helpful in getting us set up on the river. One of his guides, Willy, who we ran into on the river, was amazingly knowledgeable and willing to share his lessons from the Awa and his Maori worldview with anyone and everyone. If you're thinking about doing the paddle, this company is who you should choose!
hugo bido
2021-12-28
Amazing trip, Grant is the man to deal with if you want to have the real experience of that astonishing spiritual river. Thank you for your kindness and looking after our group.
Eric Soakai
2021-12-26
Kāore te kūmara e kōrero mō tōna ake reka. The kūmara doesn't speak of its own sweetness. I find it important to start with this, because as someone who was hosted so well by Grant and the team at Owhango Adventure it is my job to speak about the manākitanga I was shown while I stayed with them, and was on the river under their banner. From the outset each of the people we interacted with were kind and compasionate people, down to our driver and cannoe hauler Pat, who made sure to constantly check if we need toilet stops or good jokes pre and post trip. While staying with them at the lodge it was a great space of Kiwiana meeting Te Ao Māori in a respecful way, the place had that 'Old Kiwi' feel to it, with Māori and Pasifika adornments mixed with art and design. We were given great tips about the best spots to go to while on the river, and how to approach rapids and tides etc. And even when we had mishaps the team at Owhango made sure to liaise with all the appropriate people so that it did not come to taint or ruin the ammazing expereince we had on the river. I will definitley be coming back to book a culturally guided tour next time I come back! Ia manuia, Eric Soakai

Contact Us at Owhango Adventures for a Canadian Canoe hire and accommodation.